Health is Wealth

Dear TOWWIOW audience,

“The first wealth is health.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

This statement never rings more true than when you’re feeling down and out. My energy gets zapped away when I’m in a crisis, even when the crisis is small (relative to what it could’ve been).

Thankfully this was a small one. It is just bothersome that it lasted so long as I felt it coming on as soon as I stepped off the China Bus into New York. I had to call off work because when I woke up the pain was still vibrating throughout my right thigh and knee, slightly in my right ankle and in my tricep/bicep of my left arm. I’m hoping that tomorrow I will wake up well enough to tough it out at work and make it the whole day.

I have a lot of catching up to do and I should really start working on a system for when I take my trips and go away rather than shutting everything off and going to relax and trying to catch up when I get back.

When my business system gets implemented I really cannot afford to do that as I will lose clients and hurt my reputation. I’m a stickler for this and because I was late turning in the two recent articles I wrote for my best client, which is due to missing my returning bus from New York and then having to deal with my sickle cell pain, I offered to complete the next 3 articles they order at a rate lower than my very first asking price (before they gave me a small raise).

I did this to show my gratitude for their ongoing business and to show my apologies for being late with the work. I hate inconveniencing anybody, even for reasons beyond my control, such as my sickle cell.

It’s important that you take care of yourself though because without your health you have nothing. Health is Wealth as the featured image quote mentions via the wisdom of Transcendentalist father Ralph W. Emerson.  I thoroughly enjoyed studying him and his work in College.

Sally G. Cronin, I will make sure you get the guest post for Sickle Cell Anemia when I have all of my ducks in a row, but currently I do not. I look forward to utilizing your platform to teach others about my disease, dispel ignorance, enlighten with awareness and inspire potential readers who carry the Sickle Cell Warrior badge as I do to continue to fight, and never give up.

Thank you all for being supportive of me when support is what I need the most.

Sincerely,

Dominic Jones

Your Opinions are valued; leave them below

