Violence & Originality

Be regular and orderly in your life, so that you may be violent and original in your work” – Gustave Flaubert

Originality and violence. Regular and orderly. I am not exactly sure why this stood out to me so much when I stumbled across this quote. I googled Gustave Flaubert to find that he was a french writer born in Upper Normandy, which is a part of northern France. He is a Sagittarius, born on December 12th of 1821 (the same date as my favorite younger cousin).

As I read about his writing career on Wikipedia IΒ found that his writing was controversial with the government, earning himself and the publishing house, Revrue de Paris, who serialized his most famous work Madame Bovary charges of immorality.

The classical spirit in me wishes that those times were still upon us, where the craft of writing was held in such high honor and respect that even the government read and intimiately knew the lives of the authors, even if it is only to make sure that they aren’t writing up some essay against an illogical law that was recently passed or a lack of service that the government wasn’t fulfilling which they wanted to hide.

Sadly enough, we are far removed from those days. Sadly enough most of us can write until our eyes bleed and our fingers are rubbed raw and the government won’t bat an eye at us.

Am I wrong? Please share with me any literary figures, and I repeat, literary figures, who have been ostracized by their government for their writing since the contemporary years. Let’s say… from 2000 – 2014. If you can’t find any, possibly offer some other suggestions of shunned literary figures or figures who have had government run-ins because of their written word. I would love to be informed of these occurrences.

In summation, referring back to my post about failing to plan, if you don’t have any sort of writing habits, such as writing at a pre-determined time, every day, or music that helps you write, or something, anything, that helps you prepare yourself for entering into the creative process, how can you let your work be violently creative and original?

What’s your creative habits?


Please see the flickr account I got the feature image from, it has the quotes that is written around the visual art.

8 thoughts on “Violence & Originality

    1. Thats awesome. Would you say that being “impelled from within,” is comparable to be overtaken by a rush of anger, whereas, like you stated, your fingers incessantly dance ipon a blank page in violent, original creativity?

      1. No violence or anger needed…just a rush of inspiration, when it descends. πŸ™‚ That’s how I published two books and working on a third. You can’t force the mind. It becomes your best friend when it’s relaxed. πŸ™‚

      2. No, no, I totally understand what you’re saying; however I suppose you’re misunderstanding the angle I’m coming from. In regards to the featured quote of the post, despite the lack of context in which the quote was spoken originally (ie. The political atmosphere, the details of Gustave’s life when it was written and what he was going through at the time, if there were any enemies to the state of France, so on and so forth) he is saying that life should be regular, possibly even mundane until the writer reaches his or her desk. When the time comes to sit and write, he is encouraging everyone to be violent and original in their work, which to me means creative without compromise, daring and threatening with every word. Not so much, how I think you’re interpretting it, like forcing yourself to right out scenes of violence or angry characters haha.

      3. I got what you meant…I wasn’t referring to angry characters etc. I still mean, that you don’t have to apply aggression in your writing or approach. As long as you believe in your work, that speaks for itself a lot already. I write what I believe in and let that reflect in my work, without compromise. I guess in essence, you mean, to write with confidence and courage, than the violence and threat you mention. I dare to live beyond the norm, so my literary works, reflects that. So, again, I get you and what you mean to say πŸ™‚

      4. This isnt every time you sit down to write or pick up the pen. The statement, just like everything else, is said only in context of the moment and through the funnel of Gustave’s feelings & persepctive at that time. I’m only channeling that message to the public and I mean exactly what the quote says just as Gustave said it; however, like all other things, we will interpret it through our own paradigms and perspectives and relate it to how we do things, and our own processes. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing your thoughts!! Please follow , like and share this post if you found it interesting and enjoyed our engagement !! πŸ™‚

Your Opinions are valued; leave them below

